College of

Dean's Update

April 6, 2015

Once again, our students distinguish themselves through their professional accomplishments and service to others.

Yasaswi Paruchuri, 2015 Graduating Class, has been selected to receive a 2015 Excellence in Public Health Award by the U.S. Public Service Professional Advisory Committee. Recipients are selected from nominees across the United States. The award is given to medical students who are involved in public health issues in their communities and who increase awareness of the U.S. Public Health Service’s mission to protect, promote and advance the health and safety of the nation. Ms. Paruchuri is currently completing an international health elective in Guatemala.

Alison Case, 2015 Graduating Class, has been selected as the 2015 Education and Advocacy Fellow (EAF) by the American Medical Student Association. The EAF is a unique position for a medical student to spend a year augmenting their formal medical training with the opportunity to delve deeply into critical issues affecting the quality and content in medical education; student-labor solidarity in the health care sector; physician workforce supply, especially in the practice of primary care; disparity and equity in health care access and medical debt. The EAF serves multiple roles at the AMSA while working closely with staff and national leaders to enhance educational programming and advocacy initiatives throughout the organization.

Every year, medical schools across the nation are invited to select students for the Gold Humanism Honor Society and for induction to Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society. We are proud to announce this year’s recipients:

2015 Arnold P. Gold Foundation Gold Humanism Honor Society student inductees include Haydar Ali, Maggie Collison, Andrew Kline, Erika Phelps Nishiguchi, Joyce Ang, Virginia Corbett, Rachel Mason, Danielle Robinett, James Bistolarides, Vincent Cracolici, Michael Merren, Stephen Selinsky, Sarah Bonczyk, Drew Emge, Laurel Mulder, Joshua Smith, Alison Case, Sahil Gambhir, Thomas Murphy, Matthew Steibel, Nicole Cervantes, Michael Goldstein, Elitsa Nicolaou, Stephanie Vachirasudlekha, Margaret Chi, Stephanie Hendrick, Yasaswi Paruchuri, Matthew Veltkamp, Anna Coles, Ashley Hilbrand, Neil Patel, Kimberly Walhof and Serena Zhou.

CHM Class of 2015 Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society student inductees include Raj Amin, Joyce Ang, Hilary Beauchamp, Sarah Bjorkman, Bradley Boelkins, Sarah Bonczyk, Erica Burkheimer, Jennifer Butts, Stacie Clark, Anna Coles, Maggie Collison, Virginia Corbett, Steven Cox, Vincent Cracolici, Eric DeVries, Michael Ernst, Sahil Gambhir, Liza Gill, Andrew Gilman, Leah Heron, Stephanie Hoffman, Quoc Le, Elitsa Nicolaou, Christine O’Brien, Yasaswi Paruchuri, Danielle Robinett, Justin Smith, Andrea Starostanko, Christopher Swenson, Shruthi Thiagarajasubramanian, Kailyne Van Stavern, Jonathan Vida, Kimberly Walhof, Zachary Wilseck and Jessica Wummel.

Faculty are also chosen each year, and this year’s honorees are Julie Phillips, MD, MPH, assistant dean for student careers and professional development, and Robin DeMuth, MD, associate professor of health programs for the 2015 Arnold P. Gold Foundation Gold Humanism Honor Society; and Jay Harolds, MD, professor, Radiology and Biomedical Imaging, and Steven Roskos, MD, associate professor, Family Medicine for the 2015 Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society.

Please join me in congratulating all of these talented people whose commitment is the key to advancing medicine and improving the health of the nation. Seriously.
Please click on the following link to see not only the quick actions of one of our faculty leaders but also the humility he assumes as he talks about the bigger message that we want to communicate. Thanks to Bill Short, MD, for your quick thinking, your leadership, and the powerful example of the values of MSU. READ MORE
We begin an internal search for the chair of the Department of Medicine, with Dr. Walter Esselman chairing the search committee. We continue our search for chair of Family Medicine, with Dr. Keith English as chair, and hope to report results of that search soon. Thank you to all who have offered and are committed to participating. And thank you to those who meet the candidates and give important time and energy to recruiting successful leaders for the college.

A memorial service for Dr. Larry Ross will be held at St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic Church on Saturday, May 2, 2015, at 1:30pm, with a reception following. The church is located at 955 Alton Street in East Lansing. For the complete obituary, please click here. In my previous dean’s update I talked about the impact of relationships between faculty and students that were nurtured by Dr. Ross. I want to add that Dr. Ross, along with Dr. Robert Echt, Dean Don Weston, and Dr. Wanda Lipscomb founded our ABLE program in 1986. Almost 30 years later, we continue to prepare deserving students for success in medical school. This program has shaped our college in developing graduate physicians who represent the needs of our society. The ABLE program now has outcomes that lead the nation and drive the future of medical education. We are ever indebted to Dr. Ross, Dr. Echt, Dean Weston and Dr. Lipscomb for their vision, so far ahead of its time, that established an enduring program of such stature. We are grateful to all of the ABLE student graduates and current students who dedicate their professional lives to improving the lives of others. Dr. Ross was so proud of all of you.

Marsha D. Rappley, MD
Dean, College of Human Medicine