Fall 2021 Faculty Awards

November 10, 2021

The College of Human Medicine recognized these outstanding college faculty for their achievements and contributions to medical education, research and academics at the 2021 Faculty Awards Ceremony.

Outstanding Faculty Award


Supratik Rayamajhi, MD, FACP
Associate Professor and Interim Chair
Department of Medicine

Teacher-Scholar Award


Migdalisel Colón-Berlingeri, PhD
Assistant Professor
Department of Physiology

Outstanding Clinician Award


Raza U. Haque, MD
Associate Professor; Associate Chair for Virtual Health
Director, Division of Geriatrics; Department of Family Medicine

Junior Faculty Mentoring Award

C. Debra M. Furr-Holden, PhD
Charles Stewart Mott Endowed Professor of Public Health
Associate Dean for Public Health Integration

Early Career Research Excellence Award

Bin Chen, PhD
Assistant Professor
Department of Pediatrics and Human Development and Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology


Joshua C. Reynolds, MD, MS
Associate Professor
Department of Emergency Medicine


Kristen Upson, PhD, MPH
Assistant Professor
Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics

Research Excellence Award

Nicholas M. Kanaan, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Translational Neuroscience


Stacey A. Missmer, ScD
Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Biology

Outstanding Curriculum Contribution Award

Cindy G. Arvidson, PhD
Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics


Richard J. Miksicek, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Physiology

Lester J. Evans, MD, Distinguished Service Award


Nigel S. Paneth, MD, MPH
Emeritus University Distinguished Professor
Departments of Epidemiology & Biostatistics and Pediatrics & Human Development

William B. Weil Jr., MD, FAAP, Endowed Distinguished Pediatric Faculty Award


Mahesh Sharman, MD, FAAP
Associate Professor
Department of Pediatrics and Human Development