College of

Fall 2018 Faculty Awards

The College of Human Medicine recognized these outstanding college faculty for their contributions to medical education and research, academic contributions and achievements in the 2018 Faculty Awards.

Lester J. Evans, MD, College of Human Medicine Distinguished Service Award
Richard E. Dean, MD, Chair Emeritus, Department of Surgery



Distinguished Faculty Award
Narayanan Parameswaran, PhD, Department of Physiology/Human Pathology


Teacher-Scholar Award
Laura Y. Cabrera, PhD, Center for Ethics & Humanities in the Life Sciences and Department of Translational Science & Molecular Medicine


Outstanding Clinician Award
Hend Azhary, MD, Department of Family Medicine


Outstanding Clinician Award
Laura E. Freilich, MD, Department of Medicine



Outstanding Community Faculty Award
Matthew T. Emery, MD, Department of Emergency Medicine



Community Volunteer Faculty Award
Basil O. Abdo, MD, Department of Family Medicine